60.000 BC
First signs of human settlement in Land of Rode
12 BC – 406 AD Roman settlement in Land of Rode
1104 Annales Rodenses: first mention of “Land of Rode”
Middle Ages Land of Rode, along with Burg Rode, Rolduc Abbey and Baalsbrugger watermill, under the control of successive powers (Brabant, Hapsburg, Burgundy, Spain and the Netherlands)
1795 – 1815 French occupation
1815 Peace of Vienna: Land of Rode divided into two along the Nieuwstraat/Neustrasse, with Rolduc Abbey and Baalsbrugger watermill now in Kerkrade (the Netherlands), and Burg Rode in Herzogenrath (Prussia).
1914 - 1945 In the wake of two world wars, Kerkrade and Herzogenrath grow apart
after 1945 Kerkrade and Herzogenrath go their separate ways, one looking towards The Hague, the other towards Bonn/Berlin
after 1950 Development of the European ideology and beginnings of cooperation between European countries (ECSC, BENELUX, EEC)
1960 - 1991 first informal contacts / cooperation between fire services in Kerkrade and Herzogenrath with joint exercises and first steps towards informal cooperation (precipitated by Treaty of Maastricht and the fall of the Berlin Wall)
July: Kerkrade and Herzogenrath sign a statement of intent for the intensification of cross-border cooperation
1995 May:
  • Opening of new road layout on Nieuwstraat/Neustraße
  • Signing of agreement for internationalisation of education
1995 October: Commencement of bilingual Babel project in two primary schools each in Kerkrade and Herzogenrath respectively
1995 December: Highest point attained in Plitschard development: cheaper housing in Herzogenrath in line with Dutch standards
1996 July: (Neighbour) agreement between Kerkade and Herzogenrath with respect to mutual (fire-fighting) assistance
1997 Spring: Stichting Eurodefeest/Stiftung Eurodefest becomes Stichting/Stiftung Eurode 2000+
1998 1 January: Inauguration of new cross-border public body EURODE“
2000 January: Opening of Eurode secretariat
2000 December: First Eurode medal of honour awarded to Thijs Wöltgens
2001 April: Signing of cross-border policing agreement
2001 June: The first-ministers of the Netherlands and the German state of North-Rhine Westphalia open the first European business centre: the Eurode Business Center (EBC)
2001 November: Second Eurode medal of honour awarded to Theo Kutsch
2002 Opening of the first cross-border police station in the EBC
  • Martin Buber plaque awarded to former Federal German Chancellor, Helmut Schmidt and former Federal German President, Richard van Weizsäcker
  • First cross-border commuters day in the EBC
2004 Martin Buber plaque awarded to Karlheinz Böhm
  • Third Eurode medal of honour awarded to Lilian Frederiks-Bos
  • Martin Buber plaque awarded to Herman van Veen
2006 Martin Buber plaque awarded to Klaus Maria Brandauer
2007 Martin Buber plaque awarded to Waris Dirie
  • German ambassador to the Netherlands, Thomas Läufer visits Eurode
  • Opening of Lernwerkstatt by first-minister of North-Rhine Westphalia, Regina van Dinther
  • Third tax protocol in operation at the EBC
  • Secretary-general of the CDU and member of the German Bundestag, Ronald Pofalla visits Eurode
  • Martin Buber plaque awarded to Mikhail Gorbachev and his daughter Irina
  • May:Eurodemijl/Eurodemeile festival Eurode
  • Fourth Eurode medal of honour awarded to the fire services in Kerkrade and Herzogenrath
  • Herzogenrath railway station becomes EURODE-Bahnhof
  • Martin Buber plaque awarded to Liesje and Hugo Tempelman
2010 Martin Buber plaque awarded to Princess Irene of the Netherlands
  • Fifth Eurode medal of honour awarded to Ralf Klohr (Herzogenrath) and John Heckman (Kerkrade)
  • Martin Buber plaque awarded to Peter Maffay
  • Martin Buber plaque awarded to Gary Kasparov
  • Opening Borderinformationpoint